

## THE STATES assembled on Tuesday 21st April 2009, at 09.30 a.m. under the Presidency of the Deputy Bailiff, Michael Cameron St. John Birt Esquire.

His Excellency the Lieutenant Governor, Lieutenant-General Andrew Peter Ridgway, C.B., C.B.E., was present

All members were present at roll call with the exception of –

Senator Ben Edward Shenton – en défaut
Connétable Kenneth Priaulx Vibert of St. Ouen – excused attendance
Connétable John Le Sueur Gallichan of Trinity – excused attendance
Connétable Daniel Joseph Murphy of Grouville – excused attendance
Deputy Judith Ann Martin of St. Helier – ill
Deputy Carolyn Fiona Labey of Grouville – excused attendance
Deputy Sean Seamus Patrick Augustine Power of St. Brelade – excused attendance

—————
Prayers

## Resignation of the Minister for Health and Social Services

The Chief Minister, in accordance with Article 22(4) of the States of Jersey Law 2005, notified the Assembly that he had received the resignation of Senator James Leslie Perchard from his post as Minister for Health and Social Services.

## Arrest and detention of Senator Stuart Syvret and associated matters P.60/2009

THE STATES rejected a proposition of Deputy Geoffrey Peter Southern of St. Helier that, in accordance with Standing Order 26(7), the minimum lodging period for the proposition entitled "Arrest and detention of Senator Stuart Syvret and associated matters" (P.60/2009 lodged 'au Greffe' on 16th April 2009) should be reduced from 2 weeks to 5 days to enable the proposition to be debated at the present meeting.

Members present voted as follows –

POUR: 20 CONTRE: 25 ABSTAIN: 1

Senator S. Syvret Senator T.A. Le Sueur Senator F.E. Cohen Senator P.F. Routier Senator A. Breckon Senator P.F.C. Ozouf Connétable of St. Helier Senator T.J. Le Main Senator J.L. Perchard Deputy R.C. Duhamel (S) Deputy of St. Martin Senator S.C. Ferguson Deputy R.G. Le Hérissier (S) Senator A.J.D. Maclean Deputy G.P. Southern (H) Connétable of St. Brelade

149 Price code: A

Senator B.I. Le Marquand

STATES MINUTES 21st April 2009

Deputy P.V.F. Le Claire (H) Connétable of St. Martin Deputy S. Pitman (H) Connétable of St. John Deputy I.J. Gorst (C) Connétable of St. Saviour Deputy of St. John Connétable of St. Clement Deputy M. Tadier (B) Connétable of St. Peter Deputy of St. Mary Connétable of St. Lawrence Deputy T.M. Pitman (H) Connétable of St. Mary Deputy A.T. Dupré (C) Deputy J.B. Fox (H) Deputy T.A. Vallois (S) Deputy of St. Ouen Deputy of St. Peter Deputy M.R. Higgins (H) Deputy D. De Sousa (H) Deputy J.A. Hilton (H) Deputy J.A.N. Le Fondré (L) Deputy J.M. Maçon (S)

Deputy of Trinity
Deputy K.C. Lewis (S)
Deputy A.E. Jeune (B)
Deputy E.J. Noel (L)
Deputy A.K.F. Green (H)

THE STATES rose at 10.42 a.m.

M.N. DE LA HAYE

Greffier of the States